Saturday, July 7, 2018

Andi Mack Reviewed: S2E13/14: "Cyrus' Bash-Mitzvah!"

It's a cow! MOOO!

Well if I'm going to spend an entire post bashing Andi Mack I might as well review an episode I really like - which just happens to be the very next one (and yes I'm still playing a long game of catch-up).

Cyrus' Bash-Mitzvah! is (technically) the second hour-long episode for both Season 2 and the series in general (the first being the S2 opener, Who Wants Pizza?, although technically the first was the series premiere, Tomorrow Starts Today although it's mostly aired as two separate episodes since - 13 and What's In The Box? And boy is that a lot of technical detail most people either already know or just don't care about.) Anyway, as such it has a lot of room for growth and to wrap up or air out a lot of loose ends and plotlines (including some the show just decided to randomly drop in favor of new ones as if it was a bored and easily distracted child) and even enough room to introduce new conflicts without getting too much into itself. It remembers it has a whole cast of characters for Andi to interact with and get her Jonah problem through, and it has a nice plot device that ties all of this together rather organically.

Plus, the Bash-Mitzvah! just looks legit off the chain, yo!

But really, for the first time since Cyrus came out this feels like the first time a S2 episode really grew back to the same quality, amazement, wonder and even headiness of S1 (remember, when I was just giving episodes A-grades left and right?) A big lacking element of S2 compared to S1 were those super-organic character interactions and moments that made me love most of S1 (you know, instead of in favor of just stacking moments on top of moments and boring Amber betrayal stuff everybody saw coming from the moment of the previous two episode titles and the frustration of having to suffer through some jerk-ass who just won't give Buffy the dang ball for like 10% of each episode that plotline is featured in), and in Cyrus' Bash-Mitzvah! we're again reminded why these characters are actually pretty damn real, at least as far as a Disney Channel series goes (even given single-cam). Again, with this much breathing room, all of the plotlines and developments feel natural instead of forced to the point of interfering with each other - Buffy's mom's homecoming and worries of additional deployments (and as we'll find out, her own future in this town) are given the dedicated time and development room they deserve, and the payoff is amazing, one of the best Buffy-centric moments of the entire series so far. Even Jerk-ass gets his character fleshed-out and starts to feel like an actual character. In fact, Madame Le Doux is probably my favorite minor/one-shot characters in the show so far because of how beautifully she's used to bring the plot forward and develop and well-round-off these characters. She really is the make-or-break fulcrum of the entire episode, and she makes the whole 44 minutes memorable and beautiful all by herself.

Not that the other characters, including the mains, don't help either. Andi, Cyrus, Buffy and even Jonah are all on-point here. Andi's new boyfriend (yeah I forgot his name already) is an amazing addition (yeah that's probably the 9th time I've used "amazing" or a conjugation thereof). Again, even Jerk-ass makes it feel this whole episode, even with his limited participation, is a real growing and actualization moment for him. Many of the scenes are so well-done, in fact, that I found myself rewinding and watching them over and over and over again, because they're just that good.

It felt like almost forever since I've seen an Andi Mack episode this good again. Most of it's my own damn fault - this episode originally aired back in February and I'm only seeing it for the first time now. That said, being the season's midpoint, that's still way too freakin' long and way too big a freakin' gap to have an episode this good when again in S1 I was just handing out A-grades left, right and center from the series premiere onwards. But hey, I feel excited about Andi Mack again.

Episode Grade: A+. This is simply my favorite Andi Mack episode so far, hands down. It's also an example of why everybody loves this show and what a really good, top-tier Andi Mack episode looks and feels like.
Episode MVP: Madame Le Doux all the way. I just loved the fortune teller scenes, full stop, and those fortunes were the focal point of almost all of the episode's character growth for nearly all characters who appeared in this episode.

Friday, July 6, 2018

The exact moment Andi Mack tried too hard, went overboard, and started losing credibility

She hasn't touched the ball yet.

Season 2, Episode 12, "We Were Never."

As you might tell, I'm still playing catch-up with Andi Mack. Actually, this episode - and indeed this very specific moment - help clarify why I've been so behind on Andi Mack.

It's because the series is kinda losing me, man.

And really, I think I have to admit I've been kind of loathing to catch up on Andi Mack. But I feel like this one moment affords me complete and total liberation in celebrating that I have just cause to be loathing in my ability to catch up.

So we're about a whole 3/4s of the way into the episode - Buffy is having a major character conflict with, uh, what's his name, over his refusal to pass the ball to her and let Buffy actually play in the game. This has been building up to be the major conflict in the episode. Clearly this conflict is going to reach a climax, resolving either in this episode or maybe soon into the next one. But it's pretty obvious that this is the central conflict of the whole episode or at least the A-Plot along with Buffy helping to tutor What's His Face (the B-Plot, Jonah helping to choose Cyrus' Bar Mitzvah clothes...is about as exciting as this one-sentence plot description makes it out to be). Given how there's not one but two central conflicts riding on this (Buffy's acceptance on the team and especially by What's His Face, the Team Captain, and What's His Face accepting that he needs tutoring help), this is a pretty damn important plot point.

Buffy calls a time out to complain to What's His Face about passing the ball (causing the coach to complain about wasting a time out), then the other team mates complain to him to finally pass the ball to Buffy. Then Buffy finally, finally gets the ball passed to her.

Then Buffy drops the friggin' ball, but why? Why, it's because her mom comes back from the Army all of a sudden unannounced and that whole plot point and all the conflicts therein are completely forgotten and abandoned for the rest of the episode.

Yes, just to be clear, this is what I'm complaining about.

I know Disney Channel's running commercials right now making a big deal about this moment and how it resonates with military families. I know stuff like this actually happens in real life, that a military parent is invited to attend a game and it becomes a major homecoming moment, because it is. Look, I'm not stupid, I'm not heartless, and moreover, my freakin' dad gave 30 years camping around the world in a camo uniform on top of a big, cold uncomfortable tank in the name of Uncle Sam. So don't tell me I'm being a stupid, heartless asshole because I don't like this scene.

Why I don't like this scene is, 1.) if you really want to be technical and nitpicky, this is why they have the big homecoming moment for the military parent during halftime, exactly so you don't end up interrupting the game like this, and 2.)....

...remember when I said I gave up on Westworld immediately after Season 1 because it felt like the show had degraded into nothing but the most shocking plot twist it can come up with every 10 goddamn minutes?

Andi Mack has basically decided it needs to give us the biggest, most heartfelt plot twist/plot development every 10 goddamn minutes.

I don't know if this qualifies as lazy writing, but it certainly qualifies as tryhard writing. If you forgive me saying this, it really feels like the scriptwriters, directors and overall showrunners are getting seriously drunk on the Andi Mack Kool-Aid about how the show is one of the most diverse, issues-focused, and overall best shows on Disney Channel. And that's very true - up to a point (for reference's sake let's just call this point "Season 1, when the show was good"). But now it feels like it's gotten a serious case of Westworld Syndrome, where they feel like they have to keep stacking moments on top of moments because bigger is better right? And this way they can get all the accolades and media praise!

...actually, this isn't Westworld Syndrome. This is Girl Meets World Syndrome.

The moment Buffy's mom walked into that gym, all of the tension and climax that the episode had been building up to between Buffy and What's His Face, and Buffy finally sinking her first points in a game, were completely forgotten about and thrown out the window. Why? Because the episode decided it was better to just keep stacking moments on top of moments before the previous moments even had a chance to resolve themselves, because by getting all the moments, the show can get all the accolades and media praise!

And when you do that, you've lost the plot, both literally and figuratively. How can you really cover all the issues the press and fans say you're good at covering if you're not even going to resolve them in favor of bringing up more issues you're also going to abandon in favor of just a raw total moments count? You want to have the episode about being Jewish, being gay, being a military dependent, being a girl on a boy's team, being in need of a tutor or special needs, being a friend in need - all in the same episode. Yes, you can mash all that together successfully under the larger banner of "being accepted" - but you really need to consolidate all of that into fewer moments (like say if Cyrus and Buffy had a shared plotline, that would just about covered it, instead of the separate plotlines of Buffy needing to be accepted with What's His Face needing to accept his needs and Cyrus...going clothes shopping with Jonah) and not spread them out into so many separate moments that they start interfering with each other, to the point where you don't even have enough time to resolve them! I know I just got done complaining in an earlier post about the writing getting super-lazy and just coasting on its actual earned popularity to just get away with the cast doing nothing, but if anything now that I think about it it's problem is having the cast do too much, because now the show's earned popularity makes it think it can have its cake and eat it too by just throwing moments up on the screen without actually making a point or statement with those moments or even just, you know, resolve them as a basic plot courtesy!

If you disagree with me on this, you can come the fuck at me bro.

Episode Grade: C-. Yeah I guess I might as well make this an actual review too. Anyway, yeah, this is probably the worst episode of Andi Mack so far just because it's chock-full of S2's problems, all summed up in a convenient single-episode package. But don't worry, we'll find out the writers learned their lessons real quick pretty much right away.
Episode MVP: Cyrus, for three very specific reasons:

1. He's gay, so why not
2. He's having his bar mitzvah, so why not
3. It's my blog, I say so

Extra Thoughts:

  - uhh I guess the "Extra Thoughts" means this is officially the S2E12 "We Were Never" episode review too, so there.

 - I do like the conversation Andi and Jonah had about labels and the confusion (and accidentally breakup) that caused. Labels can be bad...but they do help clear up some confusion sometimes, too. Everything's situational and contextual, people.

 - On the other hand, I love Jonah's conversation to Cyrus about labels and why he wants to avoid them because he just wants to be a freakin' kid right now. See, I still love the show fundamentally when it gives each and every moment the breathing space it needs.


Thursday, July 5, 2018

Opinions on the state of Disney Channel and Nickelodeon right now/current shows, ranked

Disney Channel:

Actually watchable tier: ...umm, well, they did say Bizaardvark's coming back eventually, I guess? What other shows are even out there on Disney Channel now?

Oh, and Stuck in the Middle. Whew, I almost forgot that was on!

Grossly Overrated Tier: Andi Mack. Yes really. I'll get more into this soon, but I'm ready to give up on the show and erase it from my DVR. Season 1 was really good - so good in fact that they've apparently decided all they need to do is phone it in for Season 2 and and coast on the Diversity Card*.

Fundamentally the show is still good...I guess? Actually, not really. It's not really all that entertaining anymore. I'll get into that in a very near future review (I'm writing it now more or less).

If anybody wants to disagree with me on Andi Mack, come the fuck at me bro.

On The Fence Tier: Big City Greens. It has its moments but it feels a bit of a one-joke wonder, especially since this is the same network that ran Gravity Falls and the network that's currently running DuckTales 2017. I don't hesitate to say that we expect better from you now, Disney. I also don't know if this show *should* be on CN, per se (I have to imagine it was pitched to them at one point) because saying a show should be on this-or-that network is a bit of a loaded term, or if it would "do better" on CN, both ratings or quality-wise.

Also, Big Hero 6. I kind of expected this anyway because of Tangled, and because just the history of movie-to-cartoon adaptations rarely work (it doesn't help that they tend to be lazy to begin with because the whole concept is born from cynicism). Anyway, I'll review this show soon, I promise (maybe).

Still pretty big stinkin' garbage tier: Bunk'd. I've seen bits of episodes here and there and it seems a little better (they got rid of the two biggest problems - Gladys and Hazel) but it seems way too little, way too late, and still just garbage.
Actually Worse Than Bunk'd Tier: Raven's Home.

I've seen one episode of Season 2 and...oh man alive. Is it Gawd Awful. I mean it. It needs its own review to justify wtf is happening but...ugh. Maybe more magnified because it's core is built around some of my most favorite Disney Channel live-action characters and actors of all time, and legitimately one of the best shows the network's ever had.

But this is a billion times worse than Cory in the House, people. I mean it.

I haven't seen it yet tier: ...is Rapunzel still airing new episodes? It's got a title change and all. That whole thing is kind of a mess too.

Again, I'll explain later.

Nickelodeon:

I haven't gotten around to seeing it yet tier: Star Falls, Knight Squad. I'm just way behind on stuff and letting it collect on my DVR.

...in fact I think that's pretty much the whole damn network now aside from SpongeBob. Wow Nickelodeon is in dire straights without PAW Patrol.

* - oh yeah, and what do I mean by this and most certainly the most controversial part of this whole write-up. I have absolutely nothing against diversity in television, especially kids' television where I think it should be as mandatory as they're trying to include with it. And I very much am saying this as a PoC myself. In fact I really like the diversity on Andi Mack, at least on the face of it. It's actually one of the very, very few shows on TV period across all platforms where I actually feel represented (racially at least). 

I also like Cyrus in particular as a character, for LGBTQ+ representation and just as a character in general. Cyrus and the...guy who plays him, what's his face...are one of the absolute top-tier gems in this show.

But the plotlines are just getting fucking lazy and it feels like the show as it stands now really feels like they don't need to do anything other than just coast on the cast, the basic plot outlines of each episode (and the show in general) and the high praise it got on Season 1. I'm not kidding, it really feels like the episodes are just becoming more and more the cast just stands around and we're expected to like it, because we liked it before when the characters actually did stuff. But like I said, I'll get into that more in an in-depth review.

Saturday, June 30, 2018

Kiki's Delivery Service Movie Review

You'd think they'd never seen a girl and a cat on a broom before

What is it? ~90ish minute long animated feature film, originally from Japan (one of dem "ann-yee-mayeahs" da kiddos are always talkin' 'bout)
Where did it air? It originally debuted in the home country around 1988 or so and then popped up in this country intermittently in various places since, until a decade later in 1998. Up to then it was mostly viewable exclusively on Japan Airlines' inflight entertainment so yeah, you had to buy a ticket and hope you really, really liked Tokyo if you wanted to see the movie that badly. In 1998 Disney purchased Studio Ghibli and redubbed it for wide-distribution home release (with various TV outlets airing it since; I first saw it on broadcast of all things way back in 2008 but like with Little Manhattan I got the DVD from the library specifically for this review) and got serious money for some serious voice talent which...we'll get into more detail with starting...oh, right now:
Who stars in it? Kristen Dunst in the main role as Kiki and Phil Hartman in the role of her cat familiar. Yes, that Phil Hartman. This would in fact be his very last acting role ever prior to his and his wife's murder-suicide, performed during what would've been in the middle of his ongoing SNL run and Newsradio Season 2 (speaking of which I really have to review Newsradio one of these days, it truly is one of the greatest multi-cams of all time).
Why are we reviewing this? I was hoping to turn my A++ reviews into a quartet but...yeah, read the review:

When I first saw this in 2008, I was really blown away. This was in fact the very first Miyazaki film I'd ever seen - I hadn't even seen Princess Mononoke yet and I wouldn't see Spirited Away until half a decade later in 2013, though I have seen other Miyazaki films in the meantime and since. I was really taken in by the story of a tween/young-teen girl who decided to go out into the world on her own and the coming-of-age story wrapped around it, and was really inspired by Kiki's sense of adventure and courage.

About a month or so when I sat down to review Little Manhattan and thought of other films that might earn an A++ rating, I was pretty sure Kiki's Delivery Service, based strictly on my memory, would be one of those.

Sadly...ummm, no.

Don't get my wrong it's still a good movie. It's just that...I was really surprised by all the...umm...boring parts in it.

Like...Kiki delivers one thing to one customer. Then Kiki...delivers another thing to another customer.

I understand world and character building. I'm a novelist myself (or trying to be one), trust me. But the whole point is building upon that world and character. Showing what's effectively the same action repeatedly...is just repetitive.

If it were trimmed to more of the essentials, this might've been that A++ film I remembered a decade ago. As it stands, the good parts of Kiki finding herself and exploring this new, big world around her and being a hero in it rest in-between parts that just make me restless and lose my attention. 

But it's still a really decent coming-of-age story that I would encourage you show to your daughters again and again and again and I'm sure they'll love it in spite of its flaws. And boys will no doubt find wonder and admiration in Kiki's determination, too. Just like I did, and my late-teens/early-twenties-ass self when I actually saw it.

Movie Grade: A-. That said, it feels like this got knocked way the hell down on the score, especially from its anticipated A++ grade. Again, it's the repetitive, boring parts that feel as if they add minimal world and character building that drag it down. You can tell this was a relative first effort from Miyazaki and the breathless, epic, world-spanning mythic storytelling he's now known the world-over for.
Movie MVP: Well it's always hard to judge on animated films, as I've said every time we review them but...I'm giving it to Kristen Dunst, because she really does help bring Kiki herself to life. I really think it was a big reason why I remember this movie so fondly, perhaps unfairly fondly.

Extra Thoughts:

 - yeah still playing catch-up here. As I alluded to earlier, I had four films in mind that I thought would be eligible for A++ - the one that started it all, Little Manhattan (that I just reviewed), this movie (which didn't quite make the cut), one that I just recently rewatched and one that's still on the watch shelf. You might notice a few things in common and recurring themes in here.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Little Manhattan Movie Review

You want a love story? There's a real New York love story.

What is it? 90-minute long theatrical-release romantic...comedy? Dramedy? Film.
Where did it air? Well, it was originally in movie theaters way the hell back in 2005, although potentially as a limited-release only. Since then - and believe it or not - it actually aired semi-regularly on Disney Channel from about late 2010 (around the time of Debby Ryan's 16 Wishes premiere) to around April/May 2013 on its final airing on that network, which is where I first saw it (and likely earning the honor of the highest-acclaimed film and "most street cred" film in the network's entire history). I don't know where it's aired since, but I went out and got the DVD (from the library because I'm a cheapskate, natch) specifically for this review.
Who stars in it? This is actually one of the most interesting aspects the film has to offer, not the least of which is "fetus" (the kids still use that word, right?) Josh Hutchenson - yes, the same one of "Katniss Plays Coying Love Interest Between Peeta and Gale Under the Backdrop of Government Murder Conspiracies and Teen Girls Killing Other Teen Girls for Literal Sport" fame. Regular character actor Bradley Whitford also stars in it, along with one of my most favorite character actors of all time, Willie Garson, and a guy I would definitely pin as a dead-ringer for a douchebag version of Ben Stiller (well, more douchebaggy if you'd rather except I actually really like Ben Stiller). But most interestingly of all is Charlie Ray (yes, the main child female lead - I guess Good Luck Charlie was on to something after all) who was in like exactly one role prior to this one and garnered a whole bunch of attention in this movie and after appearing in a few more bit roles in shorts and TV shows like Law & Order...pretty much completely disappeared from acting. Only to reappear just a very short couple of years ago (remember, this movie's over 10 years old now) in everything from a few episodes of Sneaky Pete (I've been told I need to watch that show even though I don't have Amazon Prime so whatever) to bit roles in Chelsea Lately.
Why are we reviewing this? Because of what I posed here.

See, in that link, where I explain my rationale for the ratings I give (and in particular explaining/defending my frequent F minus/F minus minus scores) I effectively posit that logically if there's an F minus minus then there must be an A plus plus and I even list out what the criteria would be to get that score - but if that's the case, what would qualify for an A++ score? Especially since no show, movie or anything up to that point got one.

Well, I went out and found one.

At its core, Little Manhattan is the very best of Woody Allen with tween protagonists - and no, it's not actually nearly as creepy as what that impression might give you. It's bittersweet, real and I'd even say gritty or at least raw in parts - it's unfiltered in all the sweet moments, but equally unfiltered in the most hateful moments of romantic relationships, the incredibly stupid and petty decisions and emotions that go into sinking what on the outside seem like matches made in heaven, and that romance is expressed regardless what age (well, within reason and limits, of course). The writing and directing is very sharp, practically perfect, and Josh (I'm too lazy to even bother to look up if I even spelled Hutchenson right in the first place) and Charlie really nail down their roles (again, Charlie in particular got a lot of buzz for her acting here which makes her really long sabbatical kinda puzzling). 

What makes it particularly high-quality and so much above other romance films or even comedies is that Allen-esque send-up or aversion of all the typical tropes associated with the genre. These aren't two lovebirds intentionally seeking each other out - they in fact have known each other for years, since five years old, and you have this little boy who's in this karate class with this girl he's known but hasn't really paid much attention to as a, you know, girl  - until when she starts kicking his ass in class (hey that rhymes), now all of a sudden she literally becomes the hottest woman to ever exist in the History of Ever. 

Another thing that sets it apart is that it's a very condensed yet effective treatise on the development of a romantic relationship through all its stages, from the falling in love to the honeymoon to the breakup. Gabe (Josh) and Rosemary (Charlie) do surprisingly mature and grown-up things together while maintaining that tween context, and it creates an almost fairy tale-like fantasy world contained entirely inside the absolute reality of Greenwich Village through Tribeca.  By that, I mean realistic, even super-mundane things that nonetheless take on a romantic context in a relationship are given exactly that proper context so that the viewer understands exactly why these things matter to these two characters.

Little Manhattan is...just perfect. Really, absolutely perfect. I'm not afraid to admit that way the hell back when, just a little over half a decade ago when I first saw this on one of its last Disney Channel airings March-ish 2013, I cried at the end. And when I got the DVD from the library specifically for this review...I cried at the end, again. All the things that add up - the players, how the story is told and frame, and just what the story even is - it just hits me right in the feels, mane.

Movie Grade: Well I kinda spoiled this given the whole setup for the review in the process but...A++, and earning the distinction of the first "perfect" grade even on this blog (even if cheating by design, somewhat).
Movie MVP: Yeah, I'm giving it to Charlie Ray on this one. She really does give it by herself a lot of what helps this movie earn its A++ status, and I can see why the critics were really taken by her in this one.

Extra Thoughts:

 - So, I'll also admit that I might be a little biased here since this movie actually hits pretty close to home because...I actually see a lot of myself and my ex (remember her?) in Gabe and Rosemary here. The resemblance is in broad strokes - and again, the film's ability to nail the broad strokes of any relationship is one of the reasons why I rank it so insanely highly - but, we actually did a lot of that same stuff together (including apartment hunting, for real). Most of all, the way my ex made me feel is the same way how Rosemary effected Gabe, and what certainly probably helped is that when I first saw this movie the breakup was still damn fresh in my mind (about half a year or so before I first saw it). In a lot of ways I feel I lived this movie, and it really hits hard every time I see it (hence why I bawl like a baby by the end).

 - in terms of housekeeping...yeah, it's a mess here. I still haven't seen the KCAs yet...even though the latecoming RDMAs have come and gone by almost a week by the time I finally push the "publish" button on this (and incidentally I think I began this post in May or something). I still haven't seen Thundermans and...stuff. Yeah.

 - Some of you might know Spongey444 from our comments section. ...Actually, speaking strictly statistically, most of you are Spongey444 (yeah small readership -_-). We've agreed to do a collab review on Z-O-M-B-I-E-S (yes I'm gonna insist on spelling it this way) so, I'll get off my ass now.

Monday, May 28, 2018

Thundermans Update

I haven't forgotten about the whole Thundermans review I had planned. However, this past weekend, it's been hard to find time to sit down and watch all the episodes. I want to watch them all in order, pay close attention to the series finale, and give it the time and effort it deserves. I definitely don't want to rush anything or just burn off the review like Nickelodeon did with all these episodes. I'm actually going to talk more about this when the review comes out. But my plans have yet to change. I'm still going to write about the finale with mini-reviews of all the preceding episodes. Then I'm going to have one more post which talks about the series as a whole and what this means for Nickelodeon.

So expect something Thundermans-related soon. I'm not going to wait a month to write anything, but this is just to let everyone know where I'm at.

Also, since I already have something written down, here are a few extra thoughts:

-Apparently, Nicky, Ricky, Dicky, & Dawn is coming back this weekend and I'm not really sure if anyone cares. I still feel like these kids are too young for anyone older to relate to, but they're way too old for the plots they get. I don't know, it's like the actors are aging, but the characters aren't. It's weird, but since the show is ending soon, I guess it won't matter anyway.

-There's also a new Knight Squad with Kira Kosarin guest starring as a genie. I guess this is her owing the show one since Daniella Perkins was on The Thundermans not that long ago. I'm actually curious as to how things will go with that one.

Hi it's Ray, this past week (well, month) I've...

 - been sick (mostly just for the past week)

 - been busy. I got hired as a teacher (hooray) so, umm...I'm still trying to figure out if that means I need to modify my blog behavior or not. I'm also in the process of trying to be re-hired into the publishing industry so...yay on that too I guess. I'm also finally moving out of my parents' by the end of the year, but to do that I need to do a "lateral" move (as in, physically, as in you con your best friend into moving your couch for you-kind) at summer's end which...just adds extra complication and waste of time but whatever.

I might wind up writing about the particular reasons why in the future.

I've also been working on my novel and I'm hoping to get that finished before my first move so...yay.

 - been turning, uhhh...a certain age, on the same day Debby turned 25, because if you remember from last year and if you can logically deduce, we have the same birthday.

So happy birthday to the both of us I guess.

My point is, I haven't seen Thundermans either. Hell I haven't even seen the KCAs yet.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Let's talk about The Thundermans....

This Friday, The Thundermans is coming to an end with its final four (technically five, since the last one is two parts) episodes. Originally, I thought they were going to spread it out over the next few weeks, with the last episode on June 15. But no, that's not the case. The last couple episodes of the series are all coming out on the same night.

I don't see the point in doing this at all. This might be one of the dumbest business decisions I've ever heard of. This is how a show that has been on Nickelodeon since 2013 is getting treated? Why would they just burn off the final episodes of the show like this? They just expect people to tune in on Friday and watch them all at once?

Another idea I had was them doing it on Saturday night. You know, the night that new episodes of the show aired? Or because there are so many episodes, space them out over the weekend with the series finale on Memorial Day. I mean, they always advertise things on "your day off from school." Wouldn't kids want to see the series finale of a long-running show on their day off from school?

What really irritates me is that the Saturday night model I suggested is what they're using for the reruns. They're going to air reruns of these episodes the night after. They even fixed it so that the series finale airs in prime time. Why not just air all the episodes on Saturday night? What's the point of doing it on Friday? Who came up with this?

Originally, I was considering writing reviews of all the remaining episodes, because I felt like it was appropriate to spend time with the show in its final days. But since Nickelodeon's decided to just toss them all at once, I don't see that working out. I will be reviewing the series finale without a doubt, and probably have mini-reviews of all the other episodes sprinkled in. Then I'm going to talk about the series as a whole and what this means for Nickelodeon now that it is ending. Hopefully, I'm not completely burnt out on Friday night going through these episodes and the show can close things out on a high note. So expect something Thundermans-related this Memorial Day weekend.

Wow I can configure the title for "Featured Post"

Andi Mack Reviewed: S2E13/14: "Cyrus' Bash-Mitzvah!"

It's a cow! MOOO! Well if I'm going to spend an entire post bashing Andi Mack I might as well review an episode I really like - wh...

Wow I can put a title here for "Popular Posts"